Great Expectations

No matter if an event meets, exceeds, or falls short of your expectations – they’re never a good thing. Expectations, that is.

Even harder to swallow, when you have no expectations, because you really don’t know what to expect. Yet, still, somehow, the outcome is not what you thought it would be.

It’s been a week that I’ve been back in my home. Nothing remarkable or unremarkable has taken place. It just… is. I never expected that life would stop without me. I have, however, been in a bubble for the past 3 and a half months. I’ve been in a protective bubbled that led me to the illusion that maybe, just maybe, life had stopped to wait while I got back on track. Every day, I find another reminder of how untrue that is.

Some of the people in my life who transformed into these amazing beings during a time of crisis, have proved to me that’s not who they really are. Once the realization that things would go back to normal sunk in, they went back to their old selves. The expectations they’d created have not been met; and my heart is broken.

So, still, the question remains. Which is preferred? Having no expectations or having your expectations let down? Let’s just take it as it comes.

Leave a comment